One Hour of Silence

For my Training For Life Level 3 class I was required to spend one hour in Gods presence and just listen to what he had to say, and let me tell you, He spoke to me in a way I have never felt before.

This is the result of that:

I found the one hour of silence very difficult to do because of my current schedule, I am getting ready to move out of state and have little to no down time between work, church, and packing. I decided to to it while at work bathing dogs where I am generally alone and doing something I love for eight hours. God really showed me how to be present when I would find myself getting frustrated over small things, I would get the feeling of Him saying, “why are you getting angry so fast at little things?” And I would have to step back to see that the small thing that made me lose my mind for was something I have felt with before. So being fully present to me, is not forgetting to be in the moment, and be fully aware of what you are feeling, and taking a step back to see the bigger picture. While I was bathing a dog, rather getting ready to do a dogs nail trim, God was speaking me to me through this current situation. (It was as if He shouted “ITS TIME TO LISTEN TO ME!”) This dog was a playful loving creature, going about her usual business of play bowing at other dogs and running away barking, in the yard around the other dogs. But everything changed when I called her name to come to me in the run, she got a little anxious but still came, I got her into the groom room, a quiet room, She was petrified. She wouldn’t listen to any command I told her, she just cried out in fear and anxiety. And just like that , the Lord told me, “thats you.” I have been through a lot of health issues lately and I cry out to god about how scared I am and ignore all that He has to say. In the exact same way this poor pup was crying and not listening to me. I have cried out so loud  that I am not able to focus on hearing Gods voice, or anything He is saying. When I realized this, I simply sat with the dog and talked to her, petting her gently to calm her. her cried got quieter and she started to respond to me. “come here” I said to her, motioning to my right, she followed my hand and sat down. If I have learned anything from this, it is that I need to stop shouting and crying for fear of the unknown and to sit down and hear Gods voice, to be still, and to feel His touch, and to simply trust that this will eventually end. Nothing is going to be as bad as I think. I think the busyness of this culture is negatively affecting our relationships with God because we make time for what we deem important. Forgetting that God is of utmost importance. We don’t prioritize the right things and we unfortunately make time for the wrong, or unnecessary things. We have to start focusing on the most important  relationship, that is of course our relationship with God. When the nail trim was over I walked her back out to the run and into the yard and she became the lively pup she was before. I have faith that God will bring me out of my current mess and I will return to being the lively person I used to be.

 

Friends I felt to led to share this with you as a reminder that God will meet us where we are, we don’t have to change or do anything different for God to love us, He already does no matter what you think. You don’t have to get your life together before coming to Jesus, in fact you can’t get your life together without Him. Just fully surrender to Him where you are and what your life start to change.

 

One thought on “One Hour of Silence

Leave a Reply

